cipro water retention

Home English What Language Do They Speak in India

What Language Do They Speak in India

The Republic of India is the 2nd most populous country in the world and by area the 7th largest.  India shares land borders with Bhutan, China, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Burma.  It also has shorelines to the Indian Ocean, Arabian Sea and the Bay of Bengal.

India declared Independence for the United Kingdom in 1947 and so the existence of speaking the English language is common.  There are many various dialects and regional languages but the Official Languages of the country are Hindi and English.

India is currently the largest democracy in the world, during the 2011 Census a population of 1.2 Billion was recorded.


Other Information.

The Capital is New Delhi with the largest City by population is currently Mumbai.

A result of the British influence before Independence is that they drive on the Left side of the road.

Their Currency is the Indian Rupee.

India is a federal constitutional republic that is made up of 28 states and 7 union territories.

Although Hindi and English are the official languages there are hundreds of local dialects spoken throughout the country.

It is believed that the largest single employer in the world is the Indian Railways company which is estimated to employ over one million people.



No Comments  comments